Notes from the Maestro | Happy Birthday Mozart

Artistic collaboration has been a core component of the Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra’s mission since its inception. That spirit is emphasized this evening as we embark on an exciting creative partnership with our friends at the American Pianists Association. We welcome 2013 DeHaan Classical Fellow Sean Chen to perform Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No. 1, a lively work brimming with lamenting beauty and sardonic wit. We hope you will also join us on March 18, when Sean returns for a recital with several of our talented ICO musicians, representing the third and final performance in our creative partnership.

Following the success of our 2016 Earshot New Music Readings, the ICO was selected by the League of American Orchestras and Earshot for the Women Composers Commissions Program, supported by the Virginia B. Toulmin Foundation. The ICO joins such esteemed orchestras as the New York Philharmonic, the Detroit Symphony, and the Buffalo Philharmonic in premiering the work of an emerging female composer. We are delighted to offer this evening the premiere of in eternal dusk, by Chen-Hui Jen.

A program which features the young and the new also deserves a touch of abiding tradition. On this day 262 years ago a musical talent was born in Austria the likes of which the world has never seen since. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s prodigious gifts have become legend, and his music remains among the most perfect ever conceived. His 41st and final symphony, nicknamed the Jupiter, represents the summation of Classical proportion and beauty. The finale’s brilliant five-part fugue, in particular, encapsulates his incomparable musical genius.

— Matthew Kraemer
ICO Music Director


References ICO concert – Happy Birthday Mozart, Saturday, January 27, 2018, 7:30 PM, Schrott Center for the Arts, Butler Arts Center

Sean Chen*, piano
John Rommel, trumpet
Matthew Kraemer, conductor

Chen-Hui Jen | in eternal dusk **
Shostakovich | Piano Concerto No. 1
Mozart | Symphony No. 41, “Jupiter”

* Winner of the 2013 American Pianists Awards
** Made possible through the League of American Orchestras‘ Women Composers Commissions generously supported by the Virginia B. Toulmin Foundation

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.