Celebrating 70th Anniversary of legendary Hoosier composer’s “Kiss Me Kate”

Music Director Matthew Kraemer and Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra present Cole Porter’s Kiss Me Kate featuring Broadway artists, Ben Davis and Michele Ragusa. The semi-staged production directed by James Brennan welcomes a 16-voice chorus and area talent in this one-of-a-kind experience. Performances scheduled Saturday, May 19 at 7:30 PM and Sunday, May 20 at 3 PM at the Schrott Center for the Arts, Butler Arts Center.

On and off-stage antics escalate when an egotistical leading man, director, and producer played by hometown Broadway Star Ben Davis, is reunited with his ex-wife co-star, played by Michele Ragusa, in a “play-within-a-play” production of Shakepeare’s Taming of the Shrew. The musical features song classics, like Another Op’nin’, Another Show, So In Love and It’s Too Darn Hot.

Maestro Matthew Kraemer states, “With the orchestra positioned onstage together with a superb cast, the lavish beauty of Porter’s music will close a truly memorable season.”

Kiss Me Kate premiered in 1948 and received Tony Awards for Best Musical, Best Author of a Musical, Best Original Score, Best Costume Design and Best Producer of a Musical in 1949. The 1999 Broadway Revival also garnered the Award for Best Revival of a Musical and several others. The Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra production commemorates the musical’s 70th anniversary.

Leading man Ben Davis grew up in Indianapolis and attended both Lawrence North High School and Butler University. He returns to Indy for the role.

Saturday, May 19, 2018 – 7:30 PM
Sunday, May 20, 2018 – 3 PM
Schrott Center for the Arts, Butler Arts Center

Ben Davis Fred Graham/ “Petruchio” John Schmid, Chorus Master
Michele Ragusa Lilli Vanessi/ “Katherine” Rebecca Edie, Accompanist
Vandi Enzor Lois Lane/ “Bianca” Howard Baetzhold Tremayne Horne
Matt Branic Bill Calhoun/ “Lucentio” Dietgard Bittner Patrick McMonigle
Scott Fleshood Gangster #1 Ivy Bott Cathy Mills
Mike Mills Gangster #2 Patricia Harris Brown Suzanne Phelps
Patricia Harris Brown Hattie Stephanie Courter David Seitz
Trenton Baker “Hortensio” Frank Ebels Stephen E. Towne
David Mosedale “Baptista” Larry A. Goens Mark Aaron Wheatly
Keith Potts Ralph/Paul Kelsee Hankins Taylor Yandell
Howard Baetzhold “Gremio”
Adam Crowe General Howard Howell

This performance will include a pre-concert talk with ICO Music Director Matthew Kraemer. On Saturday, May 19 at  6:45 PM Director James Brennan joins Kraemer for Chamber Chat and on Sunday, May 20 at 2:15 PM Kraemer is joined by author, playwright and critic Lou Harry. Audience is invited to join orchestra musicians and cast for free post-concert reception in the Schrott lobby courtesy of Indianapolis Fruit.

Tickets start at $25 for adults, $10 for students with group discounts available. More information is available at www.icomusic.org or 317-940-9607.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.